Call Us Today!

Texas Legislative Changes for License Expirations

Recent Texas Legislative Changes affecting Continuing Education (CE) Requirements and Renewals.

We have been waiting for the implementation of the new legislative changes.  Texas Department of Insurance (TDI) has updated their website communicating the following changes.  You may view them here. We have put together the hightlights below for you.

For all licenses issued or renewing on and after September 1, 2015, which formerly required 30 hours of continuing education (CE) during each license period, only 24 hours of CE is required for each license period.  Licenses expiring before September 1, 2015, will have to complete 30 hours of CE.

For all licenses issued or renewing on and after November 1, 2015, completion of the 24 hours of CE is required for a licensee to renew the license.  If a licensee does not complete the 24 hours of CE before the expiration date of the license, the licensee will have 90 days to complete the deficient number of hours and pay a fine of $50 per deficient hour.  If these two conditions are not met within 90 days of the license expiring, the license will be inactivated, and the licensee will have to apply for a new license.  A new license will not be granted until the deficient CE hours are completed and the fine is paid.

All individual licenses that expire on and after January 1, 2016, will be aligned to expire on the license holder’s birthday*.  TDI is currently working on a system update that will align the expiration dates for licenses expiring on and after January 1, 2016.

NOTE:  *the license will expire on the licensee’s birthday at 12:00am.  All CE hours are due to be completed the day before the licensee’s birthday by 11:59pm.

Texas license holders must complete all CE requirements required by their resident state.  Texas nonresident licensees must report CE compliance to their home state.  If Texas is your home state, you must complete your CE requirements regardless of how you use your license or if you use your license at all.

If you would like to see your CE transcript for the State of Texas, you can go to Sircon/Vertafore and click on Continuing Education Transcript Inquiry and enter in the last name and license number for each licensee.

2021 Training has over 20 different online CE courses that satisfy any licensee’s CE requirement regardless of their insurance license type. We have created 3 separate 24-hour packages that include the required 2 hours of Ethics in them. You can also purchase courses individually.

If you have specific questions regarding your license or CE transcript or these changes, you can contact TDI directly at 512-676-6500 or .


Call Us Today!